16 Comments
May 7Liked by Karen Hunt aka KH Mezek

Please don't censor yourself, Karen. Thank you for your thoughtful, intelligent and eye-opening posts. No need to apologize for missing comments. Your writing is a gift, and using that gift is far more important than "holding our hands" :). Well, maybe your writing is its own form of handholding in the best of ways.

Expand full comment
author

Thank you. That's a wonderful way of putting it.

Expand full comment
May 7Liked by Karen Hunt aka KH Mezek

I enjoy your Essays. There is so much thought and research that goes into your Essays. I have learned a lot by reading your work and others. I have to make myself getup from the computer and do other things (exercise, mow, laundry...). This awakening can become overwhelming at times, and I have to free my mind. One of your other essays you asked what keeps your spirit up, and you offered your faith. I was not religious, but my Mother was her whole life. I wanted to please her and I respected her so much, I thought, why can't I believe like her. I have started watching your fathers sermons. They are very good. My Mom would be happy about that.

The last few of your Essays I read while my oil was being changed in my car. I was on my tablet and I cannot manage well on there, so I did no comment. Excellent articles about Women today and these mixed up college kids.

Expand full comment
author

I've had a hard time with faith. I've been asking questions I can't answer since I was a little girl, questions my dad never adequately answered for me. I haven't written about the complexities of my relationship with my father, maybe one day I will. Of course, as a child, it was the same as you describe with your mother. I wanted to please my parents, especially my dad, as he was such a larger-than-life figurehead. As I grew older, and being a person with an inquiring mind that never stopped, I wasn't content to just believe something because I had been raised that way. How could I know I really believed it and I hadn't just been brainwashed. These were my honest thoughts.

But in the end (and it took many years filled with many life experiences to come to that end), I realized that there is no greater truth, nothing else makes sense except my faith in Jesus, even though I still don't have all the answers and never will in this life. I'm so glad you enjoy my essays. I'm thankful for your presence here and your support.

Expand full comment
May 7Liked by Karen Hunt aka KH Mezek

Karen, I am so glad I discovered you. Your essays teach me about things I never knew. You value life in all its facets and I appreciate that. Keep writing and being open with your thoughts and feelings. Lots of love! 💖

Expand full comment
author

I've so appreciated you over the years! I'm so glad we found each other. God bless you!

Expand full comment
May 7Liked by Karen Hunt aka KH Mezek

I am looking forward to meeting you one day, Karen. 🙌🏻💞

Expand full comment
author

That will be amazing.

Expand full comment
May 6Liked by Karen Hunt aka KH Mezek

Keep writing and I'll keep reading. Just like most everyone, I don't always agree, but I'm always pushed to think about different things and question my own biases. Plus you often tell me about things about which I was previously ignorant, and a few times wish I'd stayed that way. (Grin). Sadly, sometimes I do swear, but find that I'm uncomfortable in doing so when I comment. Different strokes for different folks. Generally, I'm not offended unless the attacks are personal or just downright nasty. However, I'm glad you don't censor. After all, nice speech doesn't need to be defended. I'm grateful that I can support your work financially; I certainly get my money's worth.

Expand full comment
author

Thank you so much Nancy 🙏

Expand full comment
May 6Liked by Karen Hunt aka KH Mezek

Karen - keep doing what you do. Interesting writing. I keep reading because you write well and I appreciate your perspective on many, even most, topics. Do I agree with everything you write? Of course not. I disagree with your take on Bitcoin for example.(it's a deep rabbit hole to be sure and I think some important bits went "whoosh" over your head ;) And so what? Does anyone agree with everything another says?

Re: comments. A certain degree of civility in the comments is to be expected. I would say don't hesitate to trim uncivil comments.

Expand full comment
author

Thank you. I hear what you're saying. It might come to the day--maybe sooner rather than later--when I will have to trim more than I do. I don't like doing it, so, I will take it a day at a time.

Expand full comment
May 6Liked by Karen Hunt aka KH Mezek

I cannot tell you how much I look forward to your posts. I value your world view, and your world experiences. You write with passion, and compassion, and I believe with truth. Most of all I value your willingness to express your opinions freely and allow your readers to do the same. And I’m sure 99.99% of us agree, that abuse, name calling, and denigration should never be tolerated. Thank you, and thanks to your great community of readers whose comments are always enlightening, sometimes funny, and always worth reading!

Expand full comment
author

Thank you. This means a lot to me.

Expand full comment
May 6Liked by Karen Hunt aka KH Mezek

Karen: Please keep doing what you are doing. I find your messages informative, motivating and FACTUAL. If people get offended, then I would say that is on them. I deeply appreciate your articles. Keep on gettin up. Be safe and be well. Bubba

Expand full comment
author

Thank you!

Expand full comment